books

February 11, 2009

For years I thought I didn’t really enjoy reading as much as I would like, but that all changed toward the end of last year.  Nathan had been reading a book that he really liked and really wanted me to read.  He finished it while on a business trip that I happen to be on with him.  I was flying out 1 day early, so I took the book to read as I traveled home.  It was sooo good!  I was so glad I read it.  It helped that I had quite a few hours to dedicate to reading without any interuptions from my kiddos or normal everyday things at home 🙂  I highly recommend it.

830_9049434ce34e6c246137ba0fdb1952b7

Not long after I finished Blessed Child a friend suggested I read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Piccoult.  I didn’t really think I would be in to it, but since she lent it to me I thought I should try it out.  I couldn’t get enough.  I really enjoy her style of writing.  Again, I would recommend this book, for sure.  I believe they are making a movie based on this book.

sisters-keeper-page

After enjoying that one so much I decided to try out another one by Piccoult.  I decided on Change of Heart.  Same thing, I could hardly put it down.  It had a few parts that were a little slow, but overall I connected with characters and it challenged my thinking.

change-heart-157

And the last book I want to share about on here is one I am currently reading with a group of moms.  I didn’t really expect it to challenge me, but it most certainly has done just that.  I have really enjoyed it.  It is Crazy Love by Francis Chan

base_media

Well, I guess that is it for now.  I hope to read more and more in the future.  We have cancelled our Dish Network.  bye bye DVR 😦  You will be missed, but I can’t help but feel like we need a break from you.  We replaced that with a cheaper and fun alternative.  Netflix offers a deal where you get one dvd at a time and can watch unlimited shows, movies, documentaries, etc. online for less than $10 a month.  I have felt convicted for some time now to downsize our tv count in the house and how much we have access to.  After sharing this with Nathan and talking about it many times, we came to the conclusion I talked about above.  So, my hope is to spend more time in the Word and reading more books.  God help me.  

Happy Reading to you all!!!!!

2 Responses to “books”


  1. Love Francis Chan but had no idea he’d written a book…I’d love to borrow it once you are done!

  2. Susan Says:

    You’re an inspiration with ex-ing the DishNetwork. I’ve had the same thoughts, but they haven’t progressed into actions yet. I am also a reader. I always enjoyed what we HAD to read in English in high school, but never took it upon myself to do anymore til later in life…after college. I haven’t read any of those you mentioned, but will put them on my list. I love reading the book before the movie.


Leave a comment