what’s on my heart

August 17, 2008

Over the past week or two my mind has been like a tornado of thoughts, realizations, questions……I have felt a rush of emotions…….It is all a bit overwhelming, but in a good way.  I don’t even know how to put it in to words right now, so I won’t go there, but I wanted to share some lyrics.  When I got home from church today I turned on itunes and set it to random.  About 3 songs in I heard the lyrics of a song I wasn’t familiar with, but felt drawn to and so I set it to repeat.  It really spoke to me in this season of life I find myself in.  So, here are the lyrics.  It’s titled I Repent by Derek Webb

i repent, i repent of my pursuit of america’s dream
i repent, i repent of living like i deserve anything
of my house, my fence, my kids, my wife
in our suburb where we’re safe and white
i am wrong and of these things i repenti repent, i repent of parading my liberty
i repent. i repent of paying for what i get for free
and for the way i believe that i am living right
by trading

repent

sins for others that are easier to hide
i am wrong and of these things i repentbridge
i repent judging by a law that even i can’t keep
of wearing righteousness like a disguise
to see through the planks in my own eyes

i repent, i repent of trading

truth for false unity
i repent, i repent of confusing peace and idolatry
by caring more of what they think than what i know of what we need
by domesticating you until you look just like me
i am wrong and of these things i

truth for false unity
i repent, i repent of confusing peace and idolatry
by caring more of what they think than what i know of what we need
by domesticating you until you look just like me
i am wrong and of these things i

I am especially struck by the line “by domesticating you until you look just like me”…………………So, that’s all I’ve got

One Response to “what’s on my heart”

  1. Lisa Henry Says:

    Ironically, I’ve have very similar things on my mind lately. Thanks for posting the lyrics. I will have to find the song myself.


Leave a comment